**Update on Issuance of Marriage Licenses due to COVID-19**
Marriage licenses are issued by the Clerk of the Circuit Court, located at 9483 Kings Highway Suite Number 3. In order to apply for a marriage license both parties must be present with a photo ID, and planning to marry in the Commonwealth of Virginia within 60 days of the license. The fee is $30.00 (cash, check or money order - this office does not take credit or debit cards).
Marriage license are issued between 8:00 a.m. and 4:00 p.m. Monday through Friday, with the exception of State holidays. Please allow approximately 20 minutes to complete the application in office.
As of July 1, 2016 Please note the following changes in Virginia State House Bill 703/SB 415 - Legal Age to Marry.
Code Law 20 to 48. Minimum Age of Marriage
The minimum age at which persons may marry shall be 18, unless a minor has been emancipated by court order. Upon application for a marriage license, an emancipated minor shall provide a certified copy of the order of emancipation.
Both parties must appear before the Clerk to obtain a license (proof of age required, i.e. valid drivers license, passport or military identification). Cash or checks only. Must be completed by 4 p.m.
Code Law 20 to 45.1. Void & Voidable Marriages
C. All marriages solemnized on or after July 1, 2016, when either or both of the parties were, at the time of the solemnization, under the age of 18 and have not been emancipated as required by Code Law 20 to 48 shall be void from the time they shall be so declared by a decree of divorce or nullity. Notwithstanding the foregoing, this section shall not apply to a lawful marriage entered in another state or country prior to the parties being domiciled in the Commonwealth.
Code Law 20 to 90. Suit to Affirm Marriage
B. Notwithstanding Code Law 20 to 13, a marriage of a couple where one of the parties was under the age of 18 at the time of solemnization may be decreed valid upon petition by the party who was under the age of 18 at the time of the solemnization that would otherwise be deemed voidable under subsection C of Code Law 20 to 45.1 solely because of age, once such party has attained the age of 18. If both parties were under the age of 18 at the time of solemnization, such petition shall not be granted unless both parties have reached the age of 18 and join in the petition together.
Code Law 20 to 49 is Repealed
There are no residency requirements to obtain a marriage license in Virginia. A couple may go to any Circuit Court in Virginia to obtain this license. Once the license is issued, there is no waiting period and no blood test is required. The marriage license is valid for 60 calendar days and the marriage must take place in Virginia.
Marriages are not performed by the Clerk´s office. Marriages may be preformed by ministers whose ordination papers have been filed with the Circuit Court or by Marriage Commissioners. List of Marriage Commissioners is as follows:
- Paula Jones phone: 540-645-1996
- Cybil Usual phone: 540-684-7568
- David Norford phone: 540-840-2414
- Donna Norford phone: 540-845-7306
- G. Lori Deem phone: 540-842-4919